Usually, you find yourself searching for the answer: is cheese dairy-free?
The answer is simple and short, yes, it is, and no, it is not.
Now you must be surprised by knowing the yes and no – both parallel. Let’s find out the reasons.
Basically, Cheese is itself a dairy product. But if you are asking about the ingredients used in making cheese and whether or not they include any dairy products, then the answer needs to be clarified. Because it is not included in the list of dairy-free food.
On the other hand, if you want dairy-free cheese, plenty of options are available in the market, such as Galaxy Nutritional Foods, Go Veggie!, Daiya and Tofutti.
If you want to go green, many recipes are available online to make vegan cheese at home using soy, cashews, tofu, or almonds. You can check out some of them below:
- Raw Vegan Cashew Cheese Recipe
- Vegan Brie Recipe
Does dairy-free cheese provide the same amount of proteins?
Many people need clarification about the Nutritious facts of dairy-free cheese.
If you’re looking for alternatives to cheese that still deliver the same amount of protein and calcium, here are some suggestions:
|Cottage cheese 68g||12 grams of protein, 276 milligrams of calcium,|
|Soy cheese 28 g||7 grams of protein, 50 milligrams of calcium|
|Ricotta cheese 21g||8 grams of protein, 132 milligrams of calcium|
Although Cheese and other dairy products can be a great source of protein, calcium, and vitamins A, D, and B12, Potassium, Zinc, other nutrients
Which Dairy-Free Cheese Should Have In Your Fridge?
There are dozens of different brands of non-dairy cheeses on the market, but here are a few that we like:
Gourmet Vegan Cheese
It is a creamy cheese alternative made from organic cashews. It follows a very simple process to reach the parameters of being vegan deliciously. Such as, the cashew nuts are blended with a unique blend of natural vegan ingredients to create a smooth, creamy consistency and then aged for a sharp cheddar flavor.
This brand makes all kinds of gourmet cheese, including blue cheese and parmesan-style cheese slices, feta-style Greek yogurt cheese, and chive cream cheese spread that you can put on bagels or crackers for an afternoon snack!
Lighthouse Cashew Cheese
This vegan cheese brand is made with organic cashews, water, oil, lemon juice concentrate, and sea salt. It has a mild cheese flavor that’s great on crackers or sandwiches.
Melty Vegan “Mozzarella”
This brand of vegan mozzarella is made with organic aquafaba (the liquid left over when cooking chickpeas). It has a creamy texture similar to dairy mozzarella and melts well. Use it on pizza or enjoy it with pasta dishes or sandwiches.
Daiya Foods – Mozzarella Style Shreds
This vegan mozzarella shreds is made from tapioca flour, pea protein isolate, and natural flavors. It has a subtle cheesy, mouthful taste that works well in lasagna or macaroni & cheese dishes. You can also sprinkle it on pizza to add richness!
Parmesan Shredded Cheese
Parmesan labeled vegan will have no animal products added during production. It should also be free from animal byproducts, such as rennet (a digestive enzyme from calves) and gelatin (made from boiling animal bones).
It is processed in a facility that handles tree nuts, peanuts, etc.
Why Do People Prefer Dairy-Free Cheese?
- People allergic to milk protein quit using dairy products.
- People who are vegan or follow a vegetarian diet are often encouraged to follow a dairy-free diet.
- Lactose is the sugar found naturally in milk and other animal products. People allergic or intolerant to lactose can’t digest it properly and may experience various digestive problems. These include abdominal bloating and pain, diarrhea, and flatulence (wind), so they prefer dairy-free products.
How Can We Classify Dairy Products And Dairy-Free Products?
Dairy products are milk, cream, butter, yogurt, and cheese. These are usually made from cow’s milk containing casein protein, which can cause an allergic reaction in some people. Many people avoid using dairy products because they are vegan, lactose intolerant, or dietary followers.
Many foods you may not realize contain dairy products, such as margarine, ice cream, and chocolate, that can be substituted with dairy-free alternatives. These include soy milk and other plant-based milk like almond or rice milk.
Which Cheese Dairy-Free And Which is Not? – We Have Enlisted Here
cheese that is not dairy-free. Because it’s made from goat’s milk, and it is labeled as Chevre or Chèvre. So, we recommend avoiding taking goat cheese if you are following dairy-free products for any reason.
The simple answer is no. Feta is a brined curd white cheese that originated in Greece and is usually made from sheep or goat milk. It’s unsafe for dairy-allergic people or people who avoid dairy products for lactose intolerance.
Yes, most vegan cheeses are dairy-free. Many types of vegan cheese are available today, such as soy-based and nut-based cheese. For the most part, these cheeses do not contain lactose or casein. However, some people may be allergic to soy or nuts and should avoid eating these products.
The answer is yes and no. Ricotta cheese is made from cow’s milk, but it’s a by-product of the cheese-making process. So if you’re looking for an alternative to regular ricotta, you can make your own using cashews or almonds or find store-bought brands that don’t contain any dairy. Ricotta is not considered cheese but a latticino, a dairy product. But there are alternatives to make it dairy-free.
No, Cream cheese is another type that isn’t dairy-free because it contains animal rennet, milk fat, and protein concentrate. The only way to get cream cheese without these ingredients would be to make your own at home using cashews or macadamia nuts instead of dairy products. Or you may buy from the market.
No, Gouda cheese is not dairy-free! Gouda is a Dutch cow’s milk cheese with a sweet and nutty flavor. It’s unsafe for people sensitive to lactose or casein (milk proteins).
No, Cojita cheese is not dairy-free. It is made from cow’s milk. Experts are still trying to get a formula to make Cotija Cheese dairy-free.
There is not an exclusive answer in yes yet about whether Tillamook Cheese is dairy-free because their website mentions that they make gluten-free cheese this means that it is all allergen free except milk sure. This cheese includes cultured milk, enzymes (rennet), salt, and annatto.
Kraft Mac And Chees
Yes, You can easily find a dairy-free option in Kraft Mac and Cheese. Kraft Macaroni & Cheese Dinner Original flavor is wheat, milk, and cheese. The non-dairy version of this product is made with modified food starch, salt, corn starch (from corn), and paprika extract for color.
Although cottage cheese is not dairy-free, you can easily find options in the market and recipes to make your own at home. It is hard to make at home because you need a high-potential blender, so it’s better to get your cheese from the market. If you want to make one at home, you may get the link by clicking here.
Nacho cheese is not dairy free it contains lactose in it. This is why you might get a stomach ache after eating nacho chips and cheese.
Mod Pizza Cheese
Yes, it is good. Many people don’t know that Mod Pizza offers only one type of cheese dairy free. And that is Daiya Mozzarella Style Shreds. It is gluten-free, nut-free, and soy-free vegan cheese.
Tofu Cream Cheese
Yes, Tofu Cream Cheese is Dairy-free because it is made from Soybeans. It is high in protein and low in fats. So there are better sources for those who are protein allergens.
No, it is not dairy-free. It is made from goat’s milk. It’s not safe for milk allergens. Although this is a famous cheese need to be cautious about its usage.
American cheese is not dairy free because it is made after compression with Cheddar cheese, washed curd cheese, Colby cheese, and granular cheese. It is also not lactose friendly but contains a low amount of lactose. Furthermore, it consumes low proteins.
Laughing Cow Cheese
Yes, it is dairy-free cheese. Although it names “Laughing Cow”. It is made from almond milk, fortified with B12. It is a real cheese made by Bel Cheese. It’s available in various flavors, including original, Swiss, and Gouda.
Swiss cheese is not dairy-free. It’s made from cow’s milk and contains a small amount of lactose. Swiss cheese is a hard cheese that originated in Switzerland. It comes from pasteurized milk and has a mild flavor with a slightly nutty taste.
The Swiss Cheese Association states that Swiss cheese must contain holes or at least one eye per square inch of surface area on the inside of the cheese. The holes develop during the ripening process when enzymes break down milk protein into curd and whey.
No, provolone cheese is not dairy free. The main ingredient in provolone is cow’s milk, which contains lactose and casein. These two compounds are present in all cheeses made from cow’s milk, and they can cause unpleasant side effects when eaten by people who are sensitive to these substances. Some people may be allergic to casein, which can cause anaphylactic shock if you eat cheese containing this protein.
No, it is also not dairy-free. Its made from cow’s milk and it is not safe for milk allergens and lactose intolerant people.
There is a conflict in answering yes or no for this type of cheese because its primary ingredient is milk. Although ingredients are not so clear in whether it’s dairy-free or not but the nutrients chart behind the jar may alarm you. It’s better to avoid this brand if you are lactose intolerant or have milk allergies.
Philadelphia Cream Cheese
Yes, Philadelphia Cream Cheese offers plant-based cheese as well. It may easily be found in stores with Lacto-free ingredients.