Oreo Brownie Trifle

Oreos are a famous sandwich cookie consisting of two chocolate wafers with a sweet, creamy filling. The original flavor of the cookie is vanilla creme, but it comes in many variations, including mint, strawberry, and peanut butter. The cookies are marketed as “deliciously different.”

Oreo Variations

The Oreo has had many variations and flavors over the years, including Double Stuff, Golden Oreos (rolled in yellow sprinkles), Birthday Cake, Candy Cane, Apple Pie, Mint Chocolate Chip, and S’mores (limited edition).

Is Oreos Dairy-Free?

Yes, Oreos are dairy-free, but did you know they also make gluten-free? According to PETA (People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals), Oreos are even an “accidentally vegan” treat. That means many people who don’t eat animal products may not know they can still enjoy these cookies!

Are There Vegan Versions In Oreo Cookies?

Yes, the brand has been making vegan versions of its classic cookie for over a decade now — not just for people with allergies or medical issues. The company says the original Oreo recipe is dairy-free and can make vegan versions of other products like ice cream sandwiches and pie crusts.             

One bite of this trifle has you going back for more. It is a perfect blend of moist, fudgy brownies, sweet, crunchy Oreos, and creamy mousse-like chocolate. The fluffy cool whip just ties it all together.

Is Oreo Gluten Free?

Is Oreo Gluten Free

Yes, Oreo comes in a gluten-free variety as well.

Oreo cookies have always been made from wheat flour and sugar. Still, the new gluten-free variety uses potato starch instead of wheat flour to make them more appealing to those who have celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity (NCGS).

The new gluten-free Oreos come in two flavors: Double Stuf and Golden OREO. Each package contains 21 cookies per package, so they’re great for sharing!

What Are The Ingredients In Oreo Cookies?

The ingredients in these cookies will vary by flavor but typically contain sugar; partially hydrogenated palm kernel oil; high fructose corn syrup; leavening (baking soda); salt; soy lecithin; mono-and diglycerides; artificial flavor; polysorbate 60; wheat starch; corn starch.

Oreos are made with vegetable shortening and whey powder, which is essentially a milk by-product. The whey powder is not considered an allergen because it’s used in small amounts and doesn’t contain the protein that causes allergies. But because it’s a by-product of milk, many people with dairy allergies can’t eat Oreos without getting sick.

The label also contains ingredients such as cocoa (which is derived from cocoa beans), sugar, high fructose corn syrup, corn starch, artificial color (yellow 5), salt, and baking soda).

List Of Oreos Not Suitable For Vegans And Dairy Allergies

Oreo makes several varieties of cookies that can be enjoyed by those with milk allergies and lactose intolerance, but not all of them are dairy-free in ingredients. The following list will tell you which Oreos are suitable for vegans and those with dairy allergies:

Original Oreo Cookies

Original Oreo Cookies

These classic cookies contain milk as an ingredient, so they can’t be enjoyed by vegans or people with milk allergies.

Double Stuffed Oreos

Double Stuffed Oreos

Double Stuffed Oreos contain both butter and milk as ingredients, so they can’t be enjoyed by vegans or people with milk allergies.

Golden Double Stuffed Oreos

Golden Double Stuffed Oreos contain butter as an ingredient, so they’re not suitable for vegans either; however, they do not have any traces of milk whatsoever, making them safe for those who are lactose intolerant or suffer from other forms of dairy allergies such as lactose intolerance (LC1).

One bite of this trifle has you going back for more. It is such a perfect blend of moist fudgy brownies, sweet crunchy Oreos, and creamy mousse-like chocolate. The fluffy cool whip just ties it all together…

OREO BROWNIE TRIFLE

Ingredients
  

  • 1 Box of Betty Crocker Fudge Brownie mix you will need the additional ingredients listed on the box
  • 8 oz cream cheese, softened
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/4 cup of Butter, softened
  • 3 cups milk
  • 2 small packages of instant fudge chocolate pudding
  • 12 oz tub Lite Cool Whip
  • 1 Box of Oreos, Crushed save a couple of whole ones for garnish
  • 8 oz tub Lite Cool Whip

Instructions
 

  • Prepare and bake Brownies as instructed on the box. Cool Brownies completely and set them aside. (I cut the outer edge of the brownie away because I didn't want any of the harder brownies in the trifle).
  • Blend together Cream Cheese, butter, and powdered sugar until creamy.
  • In a separate bowl, blend milk and pudding until thick.
  • Add pudding to the cream cheese mixture, then fold in a 12 oz tub of Cool Whip.
  • Now you can begin layering the Trifle! Cut up the brownies in bite-size squares and place one layer of brownies on the bottom of the Trifle. Then put half of the pudding cream cheese mixture on top. Sprinkle 1/2 of the crushed Oreos for the third layer. On the Oreos, put half of the 8 oz tub of cool whip. Repeat for a total of 8 layers.
  • Garnish the top with the rest of the Cool Whip, some Oreo "crumbs," and a couple of whole Oreos. Keep refrigerated, and don't eat the whole thing at once!

Video

Notes

Fact About Triffles
The original trifle was created in England during the 17th century. It was often made with stale sponge cake slices, jam, and sherry wine.

Leave a Comment

Recipe Rating